Wednesday, September 20, 2017

4 Reasons To Consider Homeschooling For Your Child


Disclaimer: This post is sponsored by Groza Learning Center, however, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

For parents thinking about homeschooling their children, below is a list of the pros and cons to consider. This list was derived from the day-to-day experiences of many families from across the United States who've turned to homeschooling as an alternative to the public school system. 

Ability to teach what you want, when you want. Probably the biggest benefit of homeschooling is the ability to choose your child's curriculum. You choose what your child studies, when they study and for how long. No one knows your child better than you. And now one cares about your child's progression more than you. If you want to spend more time study math, you can do so. If American history is of particular importance, you can include it in your child's curriculum. Children also have the ability to spend more time focusing their studies on areas of interest, such as art or science. In most states, home schooled children have complete autonomy to complete their curriculum at their own pace. Notwithstanding, a bit more relaxed and less ridged structure than the public school setting, homeschooled kids tend to learn just as fast as kids in the public school systems – and sometimes much faster. (Due to new regulation, some states now mandate that certain curriculum be taught in a homeschool setting.)

Freedom to choose. While homeschooling in many ways can be quite demanding, in one way it can be a big relief. Families who homeschool their children are no longer constrained by the daily, weekly and monthly schedule imposed by the public school system. Families may choose to set up a homeschooling routine the mirrors that of the local school system, so that that their kids are off when other kids are off, but their lives no longer revolve the school's calendar and school hours. Families find they have much more freedom to go on vacation and live their live according to their own schedules.

Increased emotional and physical safety. These days bullying is prevalent in most public schools. While not every kid is bullied, its happens to quite a few – and the result can be devastating. It's not only emotionally damaging, but it makes receiving a good education and learning close to impossible for some kids. Unfortunately, drugs and gangs also show their face in the public school system. Homeschooling avoids all of these potentially harmful influences. Other negative influences that homeschooling avoids include peer pressure, competition and poor self-esteem issues. During the high school years, most girls struggle to maintain a high level of self-esteem. Studies show that girls who are homeschooled have high self-esteem that remains intact throughout their high school years. Homeschooled children also don't have to worrying about the whole issue of “fitting in” that plagues just about every child in the public school system.

Increased productivity. In most class rooms in public schools there is 1 teacher for every 20 to 30 children. Not only does each child in a public school receive very little one-on-one instruction from their teacher, they also end up doing a lot of unnecessary busywork. In a home school setting, children can often accomplish in a few hours what it would take all day to accomplish is a public school. Kids attending public schools often have a ton of homework – because the classroom setting isn't conducive to getting a lot accomplished. Home schooled kids rarely have homework, as homework is completed while class is in session.

Whatever you decide is right for your child you should check out the Groza Learning Center Boutique located in Los Angeles, specializing in Tutoring, Test Prep, Reading and Homeschool. They believe students can enjoy learning!

Follow Groza Learning Center on Instagram and make sure to check out the Groza Learning Center Education Scholarship information for 2017. 





Saturday, September 16, 2017

Protect Your Family With The CUJO Smart Firewall From Best Buy

The reviewer has been compensated in the form of a Best Buy Gift Card and/or received the product/service at a reduced price or for free.

CUJO is a smart firewall for the connected home, designed to bring business-level security to the home network. This one device will secure all devices connecting to the WiFi router. CUJO detects and blocks malicious sites, viruses, and hacks. Think of it like antivirus for your entire network. Plus, CUJO lets you control what your kids access online and keep them safe.


I can honestly say without a doubt that CUJO Smart Firewall is the easiest computer peripheral device I have ever set up, and being a computer expert I have set up many. Within five minutes of registering an account with CUJO and turning it on I received a call from their support center asking if they could help me set it up, and I also received an email from them with all the links to set it up myself including a walk through video. If you still don't feel that your knowledge is up to the task you can schedule an in-home white glove installation by one of their techs. Man, talk about customer service!

Within minutes of successfully setting CUJO up and installing the android app for control and reporting, it identified and blocked its first threat. That was very impressive. My system has multiple safeguards in place including a topnotch anti-virus software suite, a Virtual Private Network (VPN), and a firewall installed. None of them identified or stopped the threat but CUJO did.



Main Features
  •  Business level internet security
  •  Guards all devices
  •  Parental contols
  •  Connect to router, control with app
  •  Blazing fast (built with 1GB Ethernet
Parental controls features:
  • parental controls for all devices
  • internet filter
  • time limits
  • social media monitoring
  • pause internet
  • alerts and reporting
  • remote administration
  • user profiles and settings
If you are currently relying on an anti-virus software to help you protect your router and other devices, you should know that it is not enough.  Only CUJO protects you from hacking, malware, and viruses.

Cujo is available now at Best Buy for a  cost of $219.99 which includes a lifetime subscription to online protection, or you can get it for $100 and pay a monthly subscription of $9 a month. Stay updated by following Best Buy on Facebook and Twitter







    Friday, September 15, 2017

    Unbe-Leaf-Able September to Remember Giveaway Hop


    Welcome to the Unbe-Leaf-Able September to Remember Giveaway Hop hosted by: MamatheFox and the co-hosted by: The Kids Did It  and The Mommy Island.




    One of my lucky readers will win a $25 Walmart Gift Card!

    Must be 18 years or older, open to residents of the US only. This giveaway is in no way endorsed, affiliated or associated with Facebook, Twitter or any other Social Media Networking Site. This event runs 9/15 - 9/30 - starting at 9 am EST.  

    a Rafflecopter giveaway
    -->

    MamatheFox and all participating blogs are not held responsible for sponsors who fail to fulfill their prize obligations.

    Friday, September 8, 2017

    Help Promote Pet Health With Hill's Healthier Pet. Happier Lives. Sweepstakes! #HillsTransformingLives

    This post is sponsored by Hill’s® Science Diet® and the BlogPaws Pet Influencer Network. I am being compensated for helping spread the word about the Healthier Pets. Happier Lives.™ Campaign, but Susie's Reviews and Giveaways only shares information we feel is relevant to our readers. Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Inc. is not responsible for the content of this article.

    Milo is 20 Years old
    Like any member of the family, understanding of the importance of preventative care and the role proper nutrition plays in the health and wellness of our beloved pets is critical to ensuring they live the healthiest and happiest lives they can. Regular visits to the veterinarian are the key to keeping yourself well-informed of your pets specific needs and be able to adapt to any necessary lifestyle or dietary changes. Sadly we often get so busy in our daily lives that we tend to only react to issues if/when they arise. The need for preventative awareness and proper pet care is exactly why Hill’s® Science Diet® is leading the Healthier Pets. Happier Lives.™ initiative!

     https://goo.gl/AeBk4C
    Milo says open please!
    Having spent many years raising, training, and caring for countless family pets, I have learned exactly how important the message behind Hill's Healthier Pets. Happier Lives. initiative really is. Even loving, supportive pet parents can accidentally overlook some signs of an ongoing or developing health issue, or may simply not be aware of certain dietary needs specific to their pet. The only way one can really know for sure is through regular vet visits and self-education. Thankfully, Hill's not only offers a full line of unique, specialty pet foods but has also put together a Pet Care Center that features a wealth of information for both cats and dogs!


    Hill's believes pets should live life to the fullest and, through daily quality nutrition and regular vet checkups, we can all help pets live healthier and happier lives. To show their support for healthier, happier pets, Hill's is sponsoring a national sweepstakes where pet parents could win $100 toward their next vet checkup. The sweepstakes will run for 100 days during which time Hill's will be awarding 100 winners. Hill's is also offering a $10 rebate is good on any purchase of 7 lbs or larger bag of your choice from almost a dozen varieties of Hill's Science Diet food!


    For more information about Hill's Healthier Pets. Happier Lives. national health initiative, download your rebate, and learn more about vet recommended Science Diet products and pet care tips, please feel free to visit their website. You can also connect with them for the latest news and updates by following them on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!

    This is a sponsored conversation written by me on behalf of Hill's. The opinions and text are all mine.








    Sunday, September 3, 2017

    Celebrate Grandparents Day With Gifts From GourmetGiftBaskets.com

    I received a Gourmet Gift Basket for this review/feature. Opinions expressed are my own.

    GourmetGiftBaskets.com, is one of the fastest-growing online retailers of gourmet gifts. This year they have an endless variety of gifts for that special Grandparent in your life. In fact, Grandparents are often the ones sending their loved ones gifts so it's time to return the favor. Grandparents Day is on Sunday, Sept. 10, so it's right around the corner. 

    Here are the Top 5 Grandparents Day Gifts chosen by dozens of customers already for the special matriarch or patriarch in the family:

    1. Microbrew Beer Bucket ($69.99) -- Six microbrews for Grandpa and Grandma to enjoy watching the setting, summer sun. You’ve got your choice of Samuel Adams Seasonal, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Magic Hat #9, Shed Mountain Brown Ale, Redhook, and Smuttynose Old Brown Dog to wash down any combination of Chichester Snack Mix, two flavors of our gourmet popcorn, Peppered Beef Jerky and so much more!



    2. Dried Fruit & Nut Platter ($49.99) -- This impressive gift is as pleasing to the eye as it is to the palate! Inside a beautiful apple wooden gift tray are 30 ounces of artfully arranged premium nuts and extra fancy dried fruits. Boasting dried apple rings, plums, and Montmorency cherries, this exquisite gift is impossible to resist!
    3. The Critic's Choice Gourmet Popcorn Sampler ($34.99) -- While there are nearly 100 different sweet or savory varieties of popcorn produced by their Popcorn Engineers, the collection in the Critic's Choice Sampler represents some of the all-time favorites among Grandparents (and just about anyone else) from coast to coast. Flavors include: Cheesy Cheddar, Caramel, Buffalo, Sea Salt & Cracked Pepper, Cinnamon & Brown Sugar, Sweet Onion, Pink Himalayan Sea Salt Infused Caramel, Garlic Parmesan, Sour Cream & Chive, and Salt & Vinegar.


    4. Fruit & Gourmet Gift Tower ($49.99) -- This gorgeous five tier fruit gift tower is filled with orchard fresh fruits and gourmet snacks, making it a perfect gift for any occasion. Your recipient will enjoy snacking on artisan crackers and cheese, gourmet salted cashews and delicate chocolate filled wafer bites along with their fruit. Plus the beautiful boxes make for a nice keepsake!


    5. Chocolate Lovers Cheesecake Sampler ($39.99 to $49.99) -- Now we're talking folks! Imagine your favorite cheesecake-loving, chocolate-craving grandparents opening up the box to find slices of the following cheesecake flavors just waiting to be sampled: Turtle, Triple Chocolate, Chocolate Swirl, and Chocolate Raspberry. For the right Grandparent with a sweet tooth, I don't think it gets better than this cheesecake sampler.

    Remember, Grandparents Day this year is Sept. 10, so think about giving your Grandparents the shout out they deserve with a gift from GourmetGiftBaskets.com



    Stay up to date by following on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram.






    Friday, September 1, 2017

    Win $25 PayPal Cash In The Color Me Lucky Giveaway Hop



    Welcome to the Color Me Lucky Giveaway Hop hosted by MamatheFox.com.


    One of my lucky readers will win $25 PayPal Cash!

    Must be 18 years or older, open to residents of the US only. This giveaway is in no way endorsed, affiliated or associated with Facebook, Twitter or any other Social Media Networking Site. This event runs 9/1 - 9/15 - starting at 9 am EST.  


    Monday, August 28, 2017

    National Geographic Kids Books Giveaway $84 Value

    I received a Birthday Gift Essentials Prize Pack for this review/feature. Opinions expressed are my own.

    Birthdays are super fun but trying to figure out the perfect gift for your son or daughter or their friends can be an expensive and time-consuming guessing game. Books open their minds and will often hold their interest more effectively than the latest cheap toy. National Geographic Kids Books has several new titles that make gift giving easy!


    100 Things to Be When You Grow Up (ages 8-12, $9.99) - No better time to think about all the possibilities the future holds than a birthday! From beekeeper to ice-cream taster, forensic psychologist to Hollywood animal trainer, conservation biologist to Chief Happiness Officer, this book features 100 of the coolest, wackiest and most amazing jobs out there (greeting card maker?? Yes, you can!). Hands-on projects, advice from National Geographic explorers, interviews with experts, weird-but-true facts and tips for aligning your interests and personality to your job and more, this new book in the popular "100 Things" series is a great way to get kids thinking creatively about what their exciting future has in store for them. 

    Tuesday, August 22, 2017

    #LeapMovie In Theaters August 25th


    Check out the brand NEW trailer from The Weinstein Company’s  LEAP!, featuring Carly Rae Jepsen’s hit song from the soundtrack, “Cut To The Feeling.”

    In LEAP! 11-year-old orphan, Félicie has one dream – to go to Paris and become a dancer. Her best friend Victor, an imaginative but exhausting boy with a passion for creating, has a dream of his own - to become a famous inventor. The two friends flee their orphanage in pursuit of their passions. But Félicie quickly learns that talent alone is not enough, but determined to succeed, Félicie finds her mentor in the tough and mysterious school custodian, Odette who, along with Victor’s encouraging friendship, help her reach for the stars.

    This charming animated comedy will inspire the whole family! Parents, kids, anyone who has ever dreamed of following their heart will fall in love with LEAP!. The entire cast captures the spirit and humor of the story and the music will have you dancing all the way home!

    Make sure to get your tickets early!

    LEAP! opens in theaters nationwide on August 25th and stars Elle Fanning, Nat Wolff and Maddie Ziegler alongside Mel Brooks, Kate McKinnon and Carly Rae Jepsen.

    #LeapMovie
    Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

    This sponsored post is brought to you by The Weinstein Company and coordinated by Wendy’s Bloggers 





    Monday, August 21, 2017

    Therabis Can Help Your Dog Feel Better! #GrabTheLeash

    This post is sponsored by Therabis™ and the BlogPaws® Pet Influencer Network™. I am being compensated to help share information about Therabis – Hemp wellness products to help your dog with itching, anxiety and joint mobility. Susie's Reviews and Giveaways only shares information we feel is relevant to our readers. Therabis is not responsible for the content of this article

    All dogs scratch but when the scratching becomes out of control it is time to take action. Your best friend could have allergies or hot spots making them uncomfortable. When our dog’s itching becomes a problem I take extra measures to make sure he is comfortable.



    A few weeks ago we talked to you about Therabis Calm and Quiet formula that helped with Rascal's stress levels and helped him keep his cool. Today we have our 14 year old Yorkshire Terrier named Charlie and are going to talk to you about Therabis Stop The Itch formula. All dogs scratch, but allergies and hotspots can induce uncontrollable scratching, which is a problem. Therabis’ Stop the Itch leverages natural hemp oil at the core of its veterinarian-developed formula to soothe your dog’s itchy skin. Their unique combination of whole-plant hemp with naturally-occurring cannabinoids and terpenes, paired with bromelain and quercetin, protects cells from oxidative stress and helps ease the torment of itching, scratching and hot spots.

    Wednesday, August 16, 2017

    Win a $50 Best Buy Gift Card In The Wrapping Up Summer Giveaway Hop


    Welcome to the Wrapping Up Summer Giveaway Hop hosted by MamatheFox. It sure has been a busy summer and now it is time to get ready for Fall! 

    One of my lucky readers will win a $50 Best Buy Gift Card!

    Must be 18 years or older, open to residents of the US only. This giveaway is in no way endorsed, affiliated or associated with Facebook, Twitter or any other Social Media Networking Site. This event runs 8/16 - 8/31 - starting at 9 am EST.